When God Spanks Us

pic

How wretched is the sin which causes the saint separation from his Savior! Does it not cause us to speak as the woman in Song of Solomon? She says, “I opened to my beloved, but my beloved had turned and gone…I sought him, but found him not; I called him, but he gave no answer” (Son 5:6). Is this not what happens when we grieve the Spirit, by whom we are sealed? Indeed, it is.

Thus, the Christian proves himself different than that of an ordinary sinner. For when he sins, he is not so much in dread over judgement, but is in agony over sinning against the Lord whom he loves. Therefore, beloved, despise not the Lord’s discipline, and remember these words:

“For the Lord will not cast off forever, but, though he cause grief, he will have compassion according to the abundance of his steadfast love” (Lam 3:31-32).

Author: terrence

"For me to live is Christ, and to die is gain."

2 thoughts on “When God Spanks Us”

  1. Oh, I dislike this post! I’m just teasing you. 🙂

    Well done, well said. The Father’s discipline is always about restoration, reconciliation, redemption, love. No discipline, no protection, safety, provision, guidance, either. Now if we could just convince people to run towards Him when they are in trouble and not away from Him, we’d have it made.

Leave a comment